Ingredients Of A Good Support Group

Chris4TheMill

Registrant
The question came up in another thread. I was asked, what is involved in creating a support group?

I think this is a very important question to ask. That is why i decided to deal with it in a separate thread. I would also add to that question, what makes for a good support group?

The following is just my opinion. However, bear in mind that I have had extensive experience over years with various types of groups. I have learned a thing or two about what works and what doesn't. I have primarily been a participant, but was also asked to temporarily lead 3 different groups at different times, so have experience on both sides.

1) First, a good support group does not have to be modeled on a 12-step format.

I personally do not care much for 12-step formats. Why? Because there is a de-emphasis on personal sharing and interaction. I have attended two 12-step groups in the past. 12-step groups are based primarily on a standard procedural format which is designed to create stability for the participants. They will typically start with the reading of a standard intro script. Then there are the opening comments, announcements, welcoming of new members, and introductions (first name only). Then there is a recitation of the group rules for sharing. These are often very restrictive and allow for no questions, suggestions, or 'cross talk' to the one sharing. The sharing is also limited typically to 3-5 minutes per person. When sharing is done, there is a group recitation of a prayer or other mantra.